Top tracks of 2016 #9 – James, Toy & PJ Harvey

I am sticking with the political theme of my last choice with this video for the James track ‘To My Surprise’.

The video was made much earlier in the year, so the dystopian world it depicts seems far more real, looked at in the cold light of December . Whatever the pink liquid that the heroine is carrying, we certainly could do with some of that in 2017 – you will see what I mean.

A brilliant animation, directed by Chris Merc and a fine song from the underrated James, with that trademark awkward danceability. No idea whether it charted, but its repeated use of the word ‘arsehole’ may have limited its plays on Radio 2…

By the way who is Donald Trump kissing at 3:20? It can’t be Birmingham’s new manager surely?

Scroll down for Andy and Roy’s number nine choices.

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Top tracks of 2016 #9 – James, Toy & PJ Harvey

  1. Good choice. Their set at Glastonbury convinced me to get their latest album, and I was not disappointed. Although I must admit I haven’t played it for awhile (note to self: must have another listen!).

    My “number 9 dream” is from a band who, on their only previous entry, reached the dizzy heights of number 4 in 2012 (where does the time go?!). I’m a bit of a sucker for his voice and for their particular brand of dreamy pop…but less keen on their hirsute appearance. Number 9…

    1. Both good choices. Not sure the James video is a dystopian future so much as dystopian present. Tim Booth has double reason to celebrate with both his band and his (and my) beloved LUFC on the march. I like the Toy song but then I would, as its very similar to ‘Penelope Tree’ by Felt, one of my all time faves. I wonder if mad Laurence is in a litigation mood these days ?

  2. At number 9 and continuing the agit-prop theme, the wonderful PJ Harvey with a mesmerising Glasto performance of ‘The Wheel’ from her ‘Hope Demolition Project’ album. You really can’t go wrong with a track that owes a debt of gratitude to both X-Ray Spex and Spear of Destiny.

Leave a Reply

