Top tracks of 2016 #10 – DJ Shadow feat. Run The Jewels, DIIV & Daughter

We are into the top ten.  I can hear the TOTP countdown music in my head as I type.

I first heard this track over the closing credits of an episode of the fabulous Silicon Valley and was intrigued, so went to a handy website that lists music used in TV shows.

This is a collaboration from this year’s DJ Shadow album with Run The Jewels on vocals. It reminds me of the debut Fun Lovin Criminals album, which is no bad thing and it’s another track that seems very 2016, amplified by the video which is an interesting fusion of Dr Stangelove and Frankie’s Two Tribes. Lyrically very dark and definitely NSFW, but it seems to chime perfectly with the very strange times in which we now seem to be trapped..

Excellent choices from Roy and Andy below, whilst the list so far is here.

 

8 thoughts on “Top tracks of 2016 #10 – DJ Shadow feat. Run The Jewels, DIIV & Daughter

  1. Those of you who were pondering which two new artists have appeared for the first time in my 2016 list will be partially put out of their misery by my number 10 choice. DIIV (pronounced Dive, I believe?) are not, as far as I’m aware, particular fans of words made up entirely of Roman numerals, but they do like to test their audience with various tricky “wordy conundrums” as evidenced by their 2016 album “Is the is are” from which this single is taken.

    Lead singer Zachary Cole Smith sees himself as a bit of a 21st Century Kurt Cobain, and has led something of an interesting existence, having, along with girlfriend Sky Ferreira, been arrested for “two counts of criminal possession of a controlled substance, one count of possession of stolen property and one count of aggravated unlicensed driving, all misdemeanors”.

    When I was in Brighton last Easter, I contemplated going to see them as they were playing at a small club just down the road from where I was staying. Alas I didn’t, so I can’t tell you much more about them, but I hope you like this mixture of krautrock, post-punk and shoegaze…(no official video, sadly)

    1. Love this and the album – I had ‘Dopamine’ on my ‘long list’. Think I had ‘Doused’ from their fabulous debut album ‘Oshin’ in my 2012 top 20; if I didn’t huge omission. Boy’s a real talent.

  2. Pretty sure my Number 10 will also appear later on in somebody else’s countdown, hence the choice of a studio live recording. The spectral beauty of this track and its critically acclaimed parent album, seemed to perfectly mirror the moment of deep reflection shortly after Bowie’s passing in January. Daughter – Numbers

Leave a Reply

