Top tracks of 2016 #11 – The Kills, Temples & Primal Scream

Are videos still a ‘thing’ now? This year I saw the wonderful film Sing Street – all about a young Irish band in the 80s and their Duran/Cure inspired attempts to shoot mini epics on the streets of Dublin, which left me wondering how many videos nowadays don’t always make much of an effort, tending to be either performance based, or increasingly the artist is not in the video at all,  as it is handed over to a film-maker mate to do a video that echoes the song (or not).

I guess this is because there is no real broadcast place for videos nowadays, no TOTP exclusive – TV is obsessed with live performance now, so promos exist in the hazy non-linear world of YouTube.

With that in mind it is nice to see The Kills making an effort with this one – not least being bothered to turn up and actually be in it as well. I also liked the follow up single, Heart of A Dog, but the video shades it for me, which has a ‘can’t have been cheap’ 80s vibe to it.

Contributions from Andy & Roy below – our best day yet? Also the list so far is here

 

 

8 thoughts on “Top tracks of 2016 #11 – The Kills, Temples & Primal Scream”

  1. Unlike Roy, I’m afraid much of my Festive Top 12 are from artists who have appeared in previous editions. In fact, there are only 2 who I don’t recall hearing prior to 2016 (“who can they possibly be?” I hear you pleading. Well, I know, of course, but you will have to keep checking to find out. Devious, I know!).

    Anyway, this lot have certainly appeared before with the incredibly catchy”Keep in the dark”, but this is the first offering from their new album, “Volcano”, which I’m not sure is even out yet. Better-qualified people (yes, Roy, I’m talking about you!) will correct me if I’m wrong about that!

    Perhaps it was the lyric “I want to know that certainties in my life isn’t lonely and more defined” that spoke candidly to me…or perhaps it’s the fact that they rhyme “parallelogram” with “Netherlands”?! Other geometric shapes and low-lying European countries are available…

  2. I was wondering what had happened to them. I really liked the singles on the first album, but found the whole thing a bit samey and don’t play it much. This sounds quite promising and I think I have heard it recently. Another decent video. A bit poppier, a bit less psychedelic: the same direction of travel as the Horrors?

    I have avoided a couple of artists on my original list in anticipation that you will choose them. We will see if I am right.

    1. Absolutely no idea they had new stuff out this year – so definitely not better qualified! Like this, agree a bit of a departure – heavily influenced by Tame Impala and Mercury Rev I would say.

    2. Love The Kills tune, on my ‘long’ list and a great, watchable video. Reminds me of a cross between the Oasis video for ‘The Importance of Being Idle’ and the New Orleans funeral scene from ‘Live and Let Die’

  3. Something a lot more familiar for my number 11. Familiar artist and familiar tune. I tried to find a decent video of them playing this at the fabulous Palladium gig that Richard and I went to earlier this year, where they absolutely tore the place apart; and this off the new album ‘Chaosmosis’ a real highlight. Yes its ‘True Faith’ as re-imagined by Messers Gillespie and Innes, but this is pilfering in excelsis. No video but always good to see vinyl on a turntable.

    1. Soon after the aforementioned gig I was at a business event in Singapore and realised that I had been wandering around a hotel full of clients singing ‘the anti-despressants don’t anti-depress’ which in hindsight may have given the wrong impression.

      A great album, although the title is at Public Enemy levels of misguided vocabulatory madness.

Leave a Reply

