Top Tracks of 2014 – Number 5s: Manic Street Preachers, TV on the Radio & Broken Bells

Manics

 

We are into the top five and the tension is palpable. Possibly.

This is Walk Me To The Bridge, from the Manic Street Preachers’ outstanding Futurology album. To my ears they sound remarkably fresh at such an advanced point in their career and the more electronic Germanic influence works really well to differentiate the album from last year’s excellent, more pastoral Rewind The Film.

Here’s the video for the lead single from the album, shot in Berlin.

Check out Andy and Roy’s choices below or the list so far here

8 thoughts on “Top Tracks of 2014 – Number 5s: Manic Street Preachers, TV on the Radio & Broken Bells

  1. My antipathy to everything (must go!) the Manic Street Preachers have ever done has been well documented (well, it has by me!). However, and just to prove that I’m not quite as stubborn in my beliefs as some people would have you believe, I liked “Walk Me to the Bridge” and on the advice of Richard, not only, listened to, but also downloaded, “Futurology”. So, clearly, you can teach an old dog new tricks, or tunes in this case.

    Anyway, not a great deal to say about my number 5 which hasn’t already been said, as it’s already been chosen by Richard, and given the Roy-al seal of approval. I also like and recommend their “Control” single as well. Number 5…

    1. Both great choices – but ‘Walk me To The Bridge’ is nowhere near the best track on the wonderful ‘Futurology’. Interestingly I was unmoved by ‘Rewind The Film’ when it was released, but seeing them in concert earlier this year it was those songs that were the most emotive performed live in a spectacular ‘hits’ set.

      1. I agree, but it is the best of the two singles that were released and I tend to stick to tracks that were released separately, even it that is blurred a bit in the digital world.

      2. I also only stick to tracks that were released separately which is why Dreaming of a City (Hugheskova) won’t be my number 1 !

  2. More repeat entries, my number 5 is ‘Happy Idiot’ by TV on The Radio. I was tempted to embed the official video again, as its probably my favourite video of the year, but this Letterman performance gives the song a more organic feel.

Leave a Reply

