Top Tracks of 2013 – Number 9

Metroland

Yes I know it lifts the riff to Europe Endless by Kraftwerk and initially I couldn’t see past that, but Metroland by Orchestral Manoeuvres In The Dark has grown on me all year and – as discussed back at No 20- I am a sucker for videos with stream trains in them.

Their ‘English Electric’ album is worth checking out, reflecting on a future very different from that which they expected in the white heat of musical innovation that was Eric’s Nightclub in Liverpool in the late 1970s.

2013“The future that you anticipated has been cancelled. Please remain seated and wait for further instructions”

..and now over to Roy

“TV on The Radio -‘Mercy’Dave Sitek found time out this year from his producer-du-jour duties to put together a new TVoR album from which, this was the lead-off track. I’ve never been the biggest TVoR fan, dipping in and out, however this is far and away the best thing I’ve heard by them and worth including in the Top10 just for the line ‘ I see tons of people looking lost and lethal'”

Scroll down for Andy’s pick or click here for the story so far…

2 thoughts on “Top Tracks of 2013 – Number 9

  1. Good to hear Metroland and Mercy again, both tracks I’d largely forgotten about. To borrow Roy’s comments about TVoR, I’ve never been the biggest fan of the group that I’ve placed at number 9. Their Mercury-winning album of 1992 largely passed me by (sacrilege, I know!), but 21 years later they finally won me over with this 9-minute epic, which has echoes of various other artists, but crucially, without lapsing into their lazy Stones-wannabe sound, which leaves me cold. As Bobby says, “Equalized Normalized Sanitized Lobotomized”. Number 9…

Leave a Reply

