Top Tracks of 2013 – Number 20

2013So to kick things off, my number 20 of the year is by Public Service Broadcasting. They followed up last year’s haunting ‘The War Room’ with a full album,  ‘Inform, Educate, Entertain’ from which various tracks were lifted through the year. I was tempted by the more aggressive ‘Signal 20’ but in the end opted for the more atmospheric ‘Night Mail’. This won’t be the last instrumental in my 20, nor the last video with steam trains…

Afterwards, scroll down for Andy and Roy’s number 20s..

5 thoughts on “Top Tracks of 2013 – Number 20

  1. A strong opening from Richard there. Hopefully, mine will go down equally well. Everybody is familiar with the music of Icelandic super-group, Sigur Ros, whether they know it or not. Hoppipolla is played over everything from the triumph of our Olympic athletes to the trauma of 9/11. However, I must confess I didn’t know much about them until I purchased their “Kveikur” album in the summer. It’s beautifully arranged and frequently accompanied my 6:03 train journey as the sun was rising on my way to work. This track takes about 15 seconds to start but I hope you agree it’s all the better for the slow build. I give you “Stormur”

  2. Glorious stuff, but wasn’t expecting Ross Kemp at the beginning. There must be something in the air in Iceland as it produces more great music per capita than any other nation on earth by my reckoning….

  3. Both fine choices – although (predictably !) I preferred PSB’s ‘Signal 20’.
    My number 20 is by opinionated, agit-prop post punkers Savages who made a serious impact in 2013 with their combination of updated Banshees/Au Pairs post-punk sound and blisteringly intense live shows.

  4. ok so it’s taken me a few days to catch up -but some desk time at work today means i will aim to listen to all the tracks. Roy – you get my vote for no 20. I’m listening rather than watching – and the savages track took me back to my student days!

Leave a Reply

